Sweet Marie

Think I was twelve years old

And she may have been thirteen

Back in the deepest woods

We went where no one could see

Now I had kissed some girls

But there was plenty still new to me

So then she threw me down and went to town

And when she was done I couldn’t breathe

 

A few years had gone by

But she never left my mind

If I saw a few pine needles

I’d smile and give a sigh

Now I had kissed some girls

And there was little now new to me

But when she threw me down and went to town

Like a blind man, I now could see

 

Now I wouldn’t call it love

But caring in the same way

Without any words

She used her mouth

To say what she wanted to say

 

Now it was twenty years ago

But still feels like yesterday

The smell of those old maples

And looking up to watch them sway

Now I have loved some girls

Even got one to marry me

But when she threw me down and went to town

It was nothing like sweet Marie

Yeah, when she threw me down and went to town

Still nothing like sweet Marie

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

