Spaghetti On Thanksgiving

Every time I get a leg up

Someone’s taking off my shoe

And if I keep on trying

They’ll take my socks off, too

I ain’t looking for handout, a hand up or a high five

I’m just looking to keep my head up

Because the water will always rise

 

I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

And Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

Two dollars worth of gas

And I better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

Any time that I breathe easy

For a week I’m in the black

Something comes and knocks my wind out

And I’m flat out on my back

I’m wondering about this freedom

Cause I feel like house arrest

With doctor’s bills, insurance bills

Parking tickets and all the rest

 

I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

And Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

Two dollars worth of gas

And I better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

I must have some sort of collar

Around my ankle that I can’t see

So any time I get some money

It sends off a silent scream

And the bills just start appearing

My mailbox is like a goose

It’s all stuffed with disappointment

And it’s feeling like a noose

 

So I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

And Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

Two dollars worth of gas

And I better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

