The Actor

Trying to move on from the past

It starts by pulling my head out of my ass

I’ve tried the drink, I’ve tried the drugs

But liquor ain’t the oil to loosen them old lugs

 

Got to move along, got to get ahead

Spent a better year locked inside the shed

I write the words, I sing the songs

But it still won’t move my feet along

 

This road will get started with just one step

But it’s the hardest one to take

When you feel your heart will break

I hear the answer that’s always said

But it’s just so hard to move

When you’re laying there in bed

 

I’ve seen the love in front of me

But it always looks like I’m watching it on the screen

I play the part, I’ve got the lead

I’m the greatest actor you have every seen

 

This road will get started with just one step

But it’s the hardest one to take

When you feel your heart will break

I hear the answer that’s always said

But it’s just so hard to move

When you’re laying there in bed

 

I check the mirror, yeah, it’s me

They may be yellow, but I’ve still got all my teeth

I see the shine, I see the rust

I know the eyes, it’s the smile I don’t trust

 

This road will get started with just one step

But it’s the hardest one to take

When you feel your heart will break

I hear the answer that’s always said

But it’s just so hard to move

When you’re laying there in bed

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

