Mother May I

Oh, Mother, may I?

Lay down by your side?

With ivory comb, we are alone, one hundred strokes

 

You’re with the angels

Sweet silver tangles

I’ll make them smooth for you to meet the lordly Son

 

He’ll be so happy

Welcome you in

You’ll share his cup

As you shared his sin

He never left you

Nor you did he

You hoist the sail

As he moves the sea

 

Oh, are you sleeping?

I hear you singing

In every dawn, in every dusk, forever more

 

I miss you dearly

But I’m not fearing

I know we’ll sing again someday on Heaven’s shores

 

He’ll be so happy

Welcome you in

You’ll share his cup

As you shared his sin

He never left you

Nor you did he

You hoist the sail

As he moves the sea

 

I will stay and walk in the sun

When it sets, we will overcome

 

Your hand grows cold now

Must let it go now

This was the only mother that I’ll ever know

 

You look so peaceful

In happy rest

You knew that for the end he always saves the best

 

He’ll be so happy

Welcome you in

You’ll share his cup

As you shared his sin

He never left you

Nor you did he

You hoist the sail

As he moves the sea

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

