Just The Same

Well, I’ve lost more fights than I’ve won

But I’ve never turned to run

And I’ve never fought for something that wasn’t true

And I’ve never stole a dime

But I’ve taken what was mine

And I’ll take a little more before I am through

 

When we head up to the sky

I think that’s just a lie

Our souls just get drawn down to the dirt

Cause everything’s got to grow

And it draws from down below

Gravity will make grist of our souls

 

Picked up my buddy at the Police station

He got busted for public masturbation

Or maybe it was drunk and disorderly? They seem the same

As guys go, he ain’t indecent

He’s just tired and angry, with good reason

Life’s got him chasing everyone’s tail but his own

 

When we head up to the sky

I think that’s just a lie

Our souls just get drawn down to the dirt

Cause everything’s got to grow

And it draws from down below

Gravity will make grist of our souls

 

And sometimes I wonder if he’ll make it

Because of he didn’t, that’d be a shame

Though the fate is just the same

I suppose it’s how you handle

Some of us are just so fragile

And others will always stand when the Wolf blows

 

Well either way it’s just the same

It just looks like a children’s game

Where the only ones who seem to win are the ones who cheat

But I’ll just keep on playing

I’ll be frustrated, but not forsaken

Because I know that the same fate awaits us all

 

When we head up to the sky

I think that’s just a lie

Our souls just get drawn down to the dirt

Cause everything’s got to grow

And it draws from down below

Gravity will make grist of our souls

 

 

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

