Spaghetti on Thanksgiving

Every time I get a leg up, someone’s taking off my shoe

And if I keep on trying, they’ll take my socks off, too

I ain’t looking for a hand out, hand up or a high five

Just fighting to keep my head up, cause the water will always rise – always rise…

 

I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

 

Two gallons worth of gas

Better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

Any time that I breathe easy, for a week I’m in the black

Something goes and knocks my wind out and I’m flat out on my back

I’m wondering about this freedom, cause I feel like house arrest

With parking tickets, doctor bills, insurance and all the rest – all the rest…

 

I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

 

Two gallons worth of gas

Better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

I must have some sort of collar, round my ankle that I can’t see

So any time I get some money, it sends off a silent scream

Then the bills start appearing, my mailbox is like a goose

Stuffed with disappointment, feeling like a noose – like a noose…

 

I eat spaghetti on Thanksgiving

Christmas from a can

Whiskey for my birthday

Peanut butter and jam

 

Two gallons worth of gas

Better avoid the tolls

But the only free alternative

Is the street with all the holes

 

All the holes…

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

