Response to my mother’s email, “How was Glen Campbell?”

It was simultaneously beautiful and awful. He is far more along in the disease than I, or most people, expected. It was very emotional to watch. He looked, and for the most part sounded fantastic, but they had to keep space between songs very short because if he tried to talk, banter, tell stories, he couldn’t get them out correctly nor follow them to conclusion. Being an entertainer, he rolled with the punches very well, but he was clearly confused, although never frustrated or embarrassed.
 
Musically, there were teleprompters all along the stage, but he still got some words mixed up here and there. His voice was still really good and strong, though. Again, he rolled with it. The most interesting thing was when he would play guitar – he could still take these elaborate, intricate, fast guitar solos, much of it improvised, when he wanted. The memory for guitar was amazing to see and I think amazed the audience most. When he wasn’t dealing with words, he gave the impression that no matter how bad the disease gets, he’ll be able to play giutar.
 
His band included 3 of his children, which was also equally sweet and sad (they all seemed to be late 20’s early 30’s). They opened the show and were featured at certain parts. They helped to express what this means to Glen and their family. I’m sure his daughter will be a star in her own right. She was gorgeous and played banjo amazingly and sang well, too. 
 
All in all, it was heavy, but something I’m glad I saw (and am sure I’ll never see again). The audience was appreciative and respectful, not patronizing. It was also full of press people and Boston muckamucks. My seats were incredible. Needlesstosay, Randi and I both needed a drink immediately afterwards. It had you on edge the entire time because you didn’t know how or what he was going to do and you could see everyone and himself really trying their best to keep it smooth.
 
I can’t believe how courageous this guy is. Everyone appreciated the unique effort for something like this and he really did sound great. To be human, and all the strange things we have to deal with, is such a scary and mysterious thing.
 
mwp   
Tags: , , ,

4 Responses to “Response to my mother’s email, “How was Glen Campbell?””

  1. michelleg Says:

    That was perfectly described.
    I personally tried not to cry through the entire show.
    He was brilliant.
    Alzheimer’s sucks.

  2. Marla Says:

    Hi Marc,
    Sorry I’m posting this here, but I just wanted to let you know that I really liked your show last week at the Great Scott. You are an extremely talented songwriter, and I’ve had your song Tears In My Beard stuck in my head all week. I was just wondering, what is the name of the song that you sang about filling up the glass? I haven’t been able to find it on any of your albums. Please let me know when you get the chance. Thanks so much.

  3. Marla Says:

    Oh, and is that song available to buy? The ones that I want to know what the title is. Thanks. :-)

    • mwpinansky Says:

      Hi Marla!

      Thanks so much for tracking me down. I’m really glad you enjoyed my set the other night. I had a great time.

      In answer to your question, my closing song was, “There Stands The Glass,” which was a cover of an old country tune by Webb Pierce. I’ve always loved that song. I never put my version on any of my recordings, but I do have it recorded. I’ll email to you. I also noticed a YouTube video of that song (from that night) already living in the intersphere.

      “Tears In My Beard” can be found on either my April EP or the Lions & Tinmen CD. Both are the same version. It’s available on iTunes, Bandcamp, Amazon, Spotify, etc.

      Thanks again for writing in. I’ll get you that tune in the next day or two.

      Marc

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

