Providence Love Story

Golden blonde and baby blue

How I’ll remember you

And those days of drinking in the sun

Wide-eyed and twenty-two

I fell so hard for you

Never knew that love could come and go

And it grows too big to sometimes hold

 

From Maine to Providence to New Orleans

New Haven to Cambridge and the coast between

To be young and in love and fed by your dreams

The paint may run dry, but it leaves such a pretty scene

 

Followed you down Thayer Street

Wickenden summer heat

India Point as stars ran cross the sky

You’d have to buy my booze

I thought I’d never loose

This love I thought I’d never find

But you knew it was just a passing time

 

From Maine to Providence to New Orleans

New Haven to Cambridge and the coast between

To be young and in love and fed by your dreams

The paint may run dry, but it leaves such a pretty scene

 

I’d take my grandma’s car

Down south just after dark

And leave when the sun was coming up

Those were machine shop days

I’d write on my lunch break

My hands so full of cuts and grease

Smudged words of longing and release

 

Golden blonde baby blue

How I’ll remember you

And those days of drinking in the sun

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Providence Love Story”

  1. Providence Love Story « Matagot :: Daily News Says:

    […] Read the original post: Providence Love Story « Matagot […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

